Black Widow (Arcade) is the Retro Game of the Week for 30 January, 2017

Released: 1982
Developer: Atari
Publisher: Atari
System: Arcade
Genre: Shooter
Played on: MAME, gamepad

Another “I am sick as sick can be” week here at RGotW, so this is going to be brief.  Playing games on the Atari Vault collection on Steam is enjoyable not only because I get to play a bunch of old games I am familiar with, but also discover a few games I really didn’t get to see back then or ever try since.  Black Widow is one of those games, and it’s pretty good.  You move around on a web and basically shoot other spiders and creepy-crawlies using a twin stick shooter, with various enemy types, dangers and obstacles in your way.  Sounds simple, but again, simple can be really, really good.

Hopefully next week I won’t be horribly sick and I can actually think to write more than a single paragraph about a game.  Enjoy.

