Golvellius: Valley of Doom is the Retro Game of the Week for 17 October, 2016

Released: 1988
Publisher: Compile, Sega
Developer: Compile
Platform: Sega Master System
Genre: Action/Adventure/RPG
Played on: mednafen, gamepad

Quick one this week, because this basically preempted other games I had planned for this week’s RGotW.  The reason: I had no idea this game existed until a short while ago.  The gameplay above is from very few attempts to play the game, thus it doesn’t go very far, but I plan to play a lot more of it and get better.  Because it is good. 

The game features an overworld where you fight monsters and find caves and secrets, Zelda 1 style, but also has side-scrolling and even vertical shooter-like elements, and that’s just in the little bit I played — who knows what lies in store in this game?  And I’m excited to find out.

This is why I can’t understand why we bother with new games when there are so many old games to play and discover.  I have played games on many systems my entire life and am still discovering “new” games to play.

