Dungeons & Dragons: Warriors of the Eternal Sun (Genesis) is the Retro Game of the Day for 24 July, 2016

Another late one today.  Been busy the last couple of days.  The recording above is a raw, unpracticed recording that I did the other day because I didn’t have time to do a recording of anything today.

Dungeons & Dragons: Warriors of the Eternal Sun is a traditional RPG (non-JRPG, non “modern RPG” which I liken to basically a Western copy of JRPG elements) for the Sega Genesis that I instantly fell in love with back in the day and somehow made it through and beat (and it’s been a long time since I’ve played, as indicated by my confused performance above).  It is a game based on the D&D Hollow World campaign and features a castle that falls into a valley of an eternal sun (hence the title) that you must find your way in and uncover the mystery of this strange place you and the inhabitants of the castle now find yourselves in.

The music in the game is absolutely fantastic, and one of the few games that I find the music truly memorable in and tolerable enough to listen to (usually, music in games are irritating or bad enough for me to want to turn it off, especially in modern games).  The gameplay is fun, the world is compelling, and the setting is just challenging enough to keep you coming back for more.  What a fantastic game.  Play it.

As usual, mednafen serves its purpose well here with a gamepad.

 

