Telengard (Commodore 64) is the Retro Game of the Day for 8 June, 2016

Today is going to be another “cheat day” where I do not create a video of the RGotD I feature, because I’m not feeling my best today and I’d rather not deal with finding, loading up, practicing a bit, then launching OBS to record (and possibly re-record if I’m not satisfied with the results) my gameplay, which is my standard routine for these things every day.  Instead, I’m going to use an old video I recorded for a retro game that I definitely think is worthy of mention here, one that features a chilling, awesome little musical intro to a fantastic game.

Telengard is a game in the “roguelike” genre, named after the pioneering game of the genre of permadeath, randomly generated dungeon maze games, Rogue. While Telengard does not feature the random levels of Rogue, instead opting for a set maze that is actually not stored anywhere and is generated on the fly by an algorithm in the game code, it does offer the permadeath and random difficulty of its predecessors.  Setting off from an inn on the surface, your character enters the fifty level dungeon full of monsters, treasures, traps, and interesting objects such as fountains and thrones placed throughout the levels, his only goal being to become stronger and plunder as much treasure as possible throughout.

I probably played more of this game than any other Commodore 64 game possibly besides the Ultima games.  One reason is that before I had the 64’s floppy drive, I had the game stored on a Datasette, a very slow storage device that used standard audio cassettes as its media.  Despite the game only being roughly 30K (smaller than many images these days), it took about 30-40 minutes to load from the Datasette.  Quite a relief when I got the floppy drive and that was cut down to mere minutes, and probably less than a minute when I got the Fast Load cartridge.

Quite a difference now when I use Vice to emulate the C64 and can have it running in mere moments.  A remake for Windows (and wine for non-Windows) can be found here.

