The Halley Project (Amiga) is the Retro Game of the Day for 1 June, 2016

Okay, I’m cheating today.  No actual video and just essentially repeating a post I did last night regarding The Halley Project: A Mission In Our Solar System.  And really, it’s not much of a game as it is a simple (in fact, oversimplified) simulation game, where you pilot a ship across the solar system from Halley’s Comet to a number of destinations using flight, warp, a simplified radar that doesn’t really point you to a true direction, instead showing you the directions of the constellations of the Zodiac, and simplified (yet somehow awe-inspiring) graphics.  It’s a cool little diversion for a little while, and getting to the destinations is a challenge, but not really a significant game compared to others.

I only have it here today as pure, 100%, unapologetic nostalgia, as yesterday was the day I ended a long search for the Amiga program that contained the above opening song, heard back in the late 80s at a friend’s place on his Amiga.  I discussed the details of that search in the link to the previous post, but I figured that a combination of my laziness today and the desire to further celebrate this game that has been in the depths of my mind for years is reason enough to give it today’s Retro Game of the Day.

Thanks, Amiga.  I’ll highlight one of your many actual games soon enough, especially now that I have an emulator up and running thanks to struggling to get it going for this game.

