Rastan is the Retro Game of the Day for 6 May, 2016

From Wikipedia:

Rastan, originally released as Rastan Saga (ラスタンサーガ) in Japan, is a fantasy-themed side-scrolling action game originally released for the arcades in 1987 by Taito and later ported to various platforms. The player controls a barbarian warrior who has embarked on a quest to slay a dragon. While on his way to the dragon’s lair, Rastan must fight hordes of enemy monsters based on mythical creatures such as chimeras and harpies.

This game has always been quite a struggle for me.  Now, it’s not cheap by any means (unlike most modern games) — the cause of death every time is completely on me.  You know, actual difficulty.  To be fair, though, I really didn’t play this game all that much even back in the day, despite it being one I really enjoyed.  I don’t know why.  Maybe I’ll remedy that over the next few days and get better at it.

It’s really a well-done game, with minor separate paths to take on each level, mostly to lead you to a new temporary weapon that helps in your enemy-slaying, and a good enemy variety combined with sometimes tricky platforming that keeps you on your toes.

But mostly, this is the game of the day because it’s one of my brother’s favorite arcade games of all time.  So there’s that.

 

